" You got to know when to hold �em, know when to fold �em, know when to walk away and know when to run." ~Kenny Rogers~
Bubba's Place
2004-12-02
I'm back for the time being.

What I'm doing is working 4 10 hour days so I can come home Thursday night and have a little more time with my family. Great Barrington is in the Berkshire Hills area of MA. It's a very beautiful area to see.

The elevator I'm putting in is in the Berkshire Hills Middle School. There is another one going in the elementary school across the street. This one won't be fun because it's equipment that I've never installed before, and according to the guys that have, it's junk. I'm inclined to agree with them. My boss is ordering this package because it's cheaper than the two other ones we usually get. Unfortunatly, he will wind up losing money in man hours for all the time us fields guys have to spend fucking around with this shit.

In addition to my helper and I being put up in a motel, my boss agreed to let me take a spare company truck out there so if I needed to get materials, I can. My union has rules about what I can and cannot transport in my car. The truck runs pretty good for having 161,000 miles on it. However....

The mechanic who had the truck before it went back to the shop took it to be inspected was told by the guy that did the inspection that he was going to have to put a rejection sticker on it because the front end was in bad shape. Not only were the ball joints and tie-rod ends worn, but apparently so was the rack and pinion steering. The work to fix this was estimated at $3500. After being informed of this, my boss dispatched the truck driver to bring the mechanic another company vehicle and bring the truck back to the shop. In the process, the truck driver was able to get a sticker for the truck. Meaning he paid a little extra so the truck would pass regardless of what was wrong with it. I, of course, did not find this out until I was out in Great Barrington. I knew my boss letting me take that truck was too good to be true. This is what he told me the day I picked it up from the shop: "We're planning on trading it in, so go easy on it."
Unbelievable. In addition to the front end, the transmission leaks, the brakes pulsate, and one of the heater hoses leaks coolant after the motor is shut off and the cooling system is still under pressure from heat. At least the front end isn't so bad that I'm nervous about driving it. My limited knowledge about cars tells me that it's not right, but not outrageously bad either. I can tell that the wheel feels a little loose in the turning, and there is hardly any vibration at low and high speeds. I make sure to top off the fluids if they need it, and the brakes work. If the thing should break down and I have to wait for service and/or a tow, then my boss will be paying me for the time it takes to do so. I will also make sure that I have the backing of my local union for this purpose. Should the truck hold together for the duration of this job, it will be returned to the shop for them to do what they will with it.

Oh, well.


previous hand & next hand



Journal

Check This Out

Contact

Credits